A Study Guide to Sugano Sensei’s Five So Tai Dosa Patterns

David Scott © 2016



This guide assumes that you are familiar with the bokken and the tan doku dosa as taught by Sugano Sensei. It also assumes that you are familiar with the basic so tai dosa patterns, the five sequences described here, and that you are making a study of them in association with an Instructor familiar with Sugano Sensei’s teaching. In order to comprehend the practice you will also need to understand the concepts of oshiete and manabite. I would recommend that you follow and study carefully the instruction you receive and at the same time make your own inquiry within the structure of the lesson.

Table of Contents


Ichi No Ken

Ni No Ken

San No Ken

Yon No Ken

Go No Ken

A final word and References



Next Chapter: Introduction